What is “Voronoi”?

Voronoi also called a Voronoi tessellation, a Voronoi decomposition, or a Dirichlet tessellation (after Lejeune Dirichlet) is a special decomposition of a metric space determine by distances to specified discrete set object of object in a space. it’s name after Russian mathematician Georgy Voronoi. For more info about voronoi click here

Here I will demonstrate how to create simple case of voronoi diagram manually.

Mostly I used this diagram for spacing or dividing area into simple geometry. For rhino3d user you can used PointSetReconstruction plugin to create voronoi diagram.

Here my result exploring voronoi tools. using voronoi attractor definition for grasshopper (right-click and save)

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “What is “Voronoi”?”

  1. Pranjal Diwakirti says :

    This is pranjal diwakirti and i am a master’s student at university of nottingham.
    Currently i am working on my dissertation which focuses on Voronoi facades.
    I am working exploring voronoi cell diagram as facade envelope.
    I am requesting you to share some of your knowledge with me for my design exploration.
    I assure you that i require your file for academic purpose only.
    Awaiting your response.

    Many thanks,
    Pranjal Diwakirti.

    • biskandarm says :

      Hi Pranjal, I’m Brahm, B.Arch from Institute Tekologi Bandung.

      I read you in GH3d some time ago. I’m very appreciate your attention at my blog, but cause same as you I’m still learn about this Voronoi generally. Actually what kind of information you would like to know?

      Brahm

Leave a comment